//
you're reading...
Living true

Midnight Stroll

My Japanese Maple

Last winter, my husband and I decided to take a late night stroll one evening in our neighborhood. Walking the path is a no brainer, as it is a 2 mile loop and makes for a quick, easy workout.

A few days earlier, our unpredictable Oklahoma weather had hit, slapping the city with freezing sleet which turned to ice and then left several inches of snow. So our streets were pretty slippery and the trees weighed down by all the ice & snow.

As we stepped outside our front door, into the crisp, cold air to take our walk, we noticed our Japanese maple. I love this tree; we planted it a few years ago and have watched it flourish. The maple was weighed down by a lot of ice. My husband started trying to break ice crystals off the delicate branches to ease the weight that was taking its toll on the small tree. My husband worried that if the ice stayed, the trunk would break.

As I was looked at the little tree and watched him, it occurred to me that that my little maple was much like many people.

Like many of us, in good times that little tree thrived in a carefree existence. But, when hit with a major storm or life circumstance, we can easily get weighed down and find it hard to keep our head up and branches high.

We all have times when we are in that winter season of life, those times where the weather is unpredictable, the storms and their effect weigh us down and we need someone to care enough to lighten the load and keep us upright.

“Let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up.”

Hebrews 12:1, New Living Translation

My friend, God wants to be there to do that for you. And he loves using people to help too.

I have faced several adversities in my life and I can remember each time a friend helped me or was just there when I needed them.

If that heaviness describes you, the Bible says Jesus is the friend who sticks closer than a brother. So you can always go to him for safety, help and support.

You can trust that God will send people to lighten your burden. Just as my little maple needed a hand in the storm, you don’t have to carry the load alone.

About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

