//
you're reading...
Living true

Perspective from a Blind Man

This was written at Christmastime:
My husband, Craig and I rented a movie the other night, and there was a scene I found worth repeating.
In the story, a unmarried waitress found herself with an unwanted pregnancy. A co-worker spent the day with her just being a friend and trying to open her eyes to the possibility of adoption.
They passed an old gentleman on the street in NYC who was homeless. He was crafting origami like creatures out of paper, passing time. When they stopped, he was making a frog. As she stopped to look, he asked her for a trade. He said that he was blind and if she could just take a minute and describe the day, he would give her his newest creation. She paused, looked around and began to describe the day. She told him the sun was shining, people were rushing around, going places, shopping, talking, the streets were busy with traffic…as she described these events, his face looked upward to the sky and he smiled, taking it all in, imagining it. He stopped her and asked about the flowers. He began to guess which ones were in bloom, and could she describe them. He guessed from the scent in the air which ones were nearby, ea by name.
“Thank you”, he said as she finished up, and he handed her the frog in grateful appreciation for her being his eyes. The sign over his head said, “God made me blind so I could see”.
While I disagree with his theology, his perspective was what made me pause.
How many things will I pass today that are beautiful, inspiring or just plain part of my world without even giving a thought? More importantly, how many people of all shapes and sizes, ethnicities, will I pass without even glancing at them or smiling? Especially during the Christmas season, my goal this year is to remember that PEOPLE are the gift. I have plenty of stuff. People are the only ones that will go into eternity. I cant reach them all but I CAN affect my little corner of the world. 
Especially around Christmas, I encourage you to take a fresh look around. Listen to kids laughing with glee, open the door for a woman with a small brood of children or a shopper with arms full, go visit your neighbor for a minute, call someone you love or someone who is lonely or has lost a loved one and offer your ear….
Let’s keep life in perspective.
About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

