//
you're reading...
Living true

Miss Matched

“Just follow the clues, sis,” she said behind me, as I headed out the door armed with keys and clues.

Those were my instructions as I headed out on what was to become a birthday to remember.

My sister Julie had organized a scavenger hunt that involved several stops around town, and I was armed with personalized cartoons that held the clues to my adventure. At each stop, a friend was to give me a gift. I was supposed to open it then and there and put whatever “it” was on!

One place was a shoe store at the mall, where I was given trouser socks, and shoes, another was a clothing store where I was given a skirt, at another stop I was given a sweater ,and so it went.

All were birthday gifts; none of them matched or were even meant to be worn together. It became amusing to see how this “outfit” was shaping up, especially when I ended up at a coffee shop for cake with family and friends, dressed in this ridiculous attire.

I suppose that we have all had similar feelings to those I had when we are going through seasons of transition or dealing with change.

The discomfort of this season can be much like the feeling I had of wearing the mismatched outfit that day. I knew it looked bad together! And yes, it was uncomfortable wearing it altogether, but I had to be a good sport and roll with it.

Ultimately, change is good and doesn’t our heavenly Father know our every need? If so, we must rest assured that HE WILL PROVIDE for each season exactly what is needed. No matter how uncomfortable we feel at the time.

And in the end, he promises us that we will be completely outfitted for whatever we need in life.

“But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” James 1:4 Webster’s Bible Translation

About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

