//
you're reading...
Living true

The Wait – Fast forward or Pause?

How much money would you pay to NEVER have to wait in line again? I mean, never EVER have to wait in line again?

While at Disney last Christmas in Orlando, we discovered something magical, I believe it was called Fast Track. It was a little trick where you could wait in one short line for what ride you wanted and then advance to the Fast Track which was a much shorter wait.

Sometimes I wish there was one of those in life, don’t you? It would be nice to just speed thru those times of financial hardship, family struggles, loss of loved one, or whatever frustrating season it may be for you.

But, I suppose it is in those times you want to hit the fast forward button that there are great lessons to be learned. And if we don’t learn them, we may have to go thru something else similar until we “GET” the lesson.

For me, I know it is patience. That is one big thing I need to learn. Yet, I wish I would just hurry up already and learn it!  (Ha! Guess that is why I am still learning this lesson)

I think once you get it, really get it, then you get to go in the Fast Track line and get to your next part of the destination much quicker!

But, getting back to never waiting in line again… If you really thought about it, what would you miss by never having to wait again? What about those little conversations with someone else who is waiting? What about those deep thoughts about something important that you never stop for 5 minutes to have?  What about hearing that favorite song over the speakers while in line somewhere that makes you stop and enjoy that moment?

There are some many moments that make up each day, some special, some mundane. Psalm 118:24 says it well, “This is the day the LORD has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.” (NLT) THIS is the day, THIS day. Not tomorrow, not when I get to go on my next vacation or have a day off. THIS day, I choose to rejoice in it!

Some of the best things are life happen during “the wait”. So, we have to stop, on purpose and be completely present in the moment. See who is in that line with us. Be interested in their life, their story.

Stop to smell the roses and take in the moment.

For some, this is easier to do than others. But for all, there will be some kind of wait in life. I love this verse in Isaiah 40:31 (ESV)

31but(A) they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings(B) like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.

So, I conclude that instead of always trying to reach for the fast forward button, we hit the pause instead and LIVE in the moment on the way to where we are going.

About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

