//
you're reading...
Living adventurous

Dessert Soufflé’s and Hairy Legs

SALZBURG, AUSTRIA

My brother and I were in Europe for several weeks and took a train to Salzburg to visit a friend. We had read in our trusty guidebook on Austria that there was an incredible dessert soufflé that was a local favorite. So we decided that we HAD to try it.

Created in the 17th century by Salome Alt, the mistress of the archbishop of Salzburg, this soufflé is formed to look like the three hills that surround the city (Mönchsberg, Kapuzinerberg and Gaisberg). Many variations abound, but a few secrets help ensure a successful outcome, meaning you can get this soufflé to the table and serve it before it falls. It also tastes very good.” 1

As we walked through Salzburg, we became obsessed with finding this dessert. We went to restaurant after restaurant searching menus, having our friend ask if anyone knew who made this! People looked like they didn’t have a clue what we were talking about!

Finally, we found a place that offered it.

We sat down and ordered the now infamous dessert and eagerly waited to see if it was really that fantastic! It takes around 30 minutes for them to make it.

Finally, the waiter brought it over to our table and my, oh my, it was worth the wait! It was creamy and rich, and then we topped it with a tart berry sauce. Every bite was pure vanilla heaven on a plate.

This dessert is pretty well known so the only thing I can think is that we weren’t pronouncing it right and they had no idea what we were talking about! Oh well, our persistence eventually did payoff.

On that same visit, we became acquainted with a rag tag, hippie looking couple named Robert and Ruth who we just fell in love with for their eccentric and humorous company. Both had long hair and looked like they had just stepped out of a seventies movie.

One evening we were hanging out with them and several fellow Americans, sitting around listening to Robert’s funky 70’s and 80’s records, someone was strumming a guitar, others were eating, conversations were going on simultaneously in English and German.

I was not privy to the German conversation of course so I wasn’t really paying much attention to what was being said. Somewhere in the evening, Ruth and our friend Charity began discussing body hair and how the need to shave or not was different in each culture.

All of a sudden, she whipped out a very hairy leg and put it on the table…. and before I knew it, my eyes became as big as saucers and I literally gasped out loud in horror! It looked like she hadn’t shaved in months.

Now, if you know me, I am extremely expressive and it is hard to hide what I am thinking. This was especially bad because I would never intend to hurt someone’s feelings in this setting but when caught off guard, well, you get what you get I guess!

Thankfully, she had a great sense of humor about it.

Apparently, not everyone shaves their legs or armpits for that matter. Or so I learned! And really, who cares?

We found Salzburg to be picturesque and unforgettable, with the outdoor cafes everywhere, old men playing chess in the city square, breathtaking views from every corner and perfect gardens where the Sound of Music was filmed, it truly was a trip to remember.

1 ) http://germanfood.about.com/od/germandessertrecipe/r/salzburger_nockerln.htm Review by Jennifer McGavin, About.com Guide

About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

