//
you're reading...
Living true

Purse lady

The other day I was at the mall, searching for the perfect purse for my birthday present from family.

I ended up in Dillard’s once again checking out a python printed leather purse that I had been eyeballing for weeks.

As I stood at the full length mirror with that purse on one arm, and another that was similar on the other, I saw a lady looking in the other side of the mirror. She also was modeling a purse on each side, trying to determine which to buy.

She noticed me and asked, “Which one do you like best?”

We swapped opinions and made our selections and chit chatted for a moment. At the register, we got to talking further. She mentioned that every year she did a yard sale and would sell designer purses for just a few dollars each. My mouth dropped open and I asked, “How come so cheap?”

She told me that once she was done with them, she had no use for them and wanted to pass them on

“Really, what am I gonna do with all these purses?” she asked (as she was purchasing 3 more worth several hundred $$$)

I was astounded but upon further discussion, I found out that she has terminal cancer. Here she was as cheery as could be, seemingly without a care in the world, yet nearing the end.

To be honest, her outlook and attitude put me to shame.

I know that I have to watch my attitude often, and keep it right for far less impacting things in life.  Things like being stuck in traffic, or dealing with an irritating client at work, or my phone dropping calls. These things are really so minor compared to what some people deal with…like being told you don’t have long to live. 

I came away that day with a renewed desire to not take for granted what is truly important in life like my health, my marriage, my relationship with God, and so on…

Hope you do too!

About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

