//
you're reading...
Living true

Willma and Marcella

This afternoon, my sister and I went to visit my 90 year old  Grandma Willma. We planned to help put up her small Christmas tree and bring her lunch.

The visit didn’t quite go as planned. She was in poor spirits unfortunately. Part of it was due to all of the medications she is on (so many that she needs a spreadsheet just to keep them all sorted) So last night among other complaints, she got no sleep and had a hard time breathing.

She was lamenting and just really upset about it all because the Doctors told her there was nothing else they could do for her, that she had to take all of the medication.

Finally, she lay down to try napping and I prayed for her for peace and a good night’s sleep.

Fear of dying alone is common among the elderly I think. My heart really goes out to her. Needless to say, it was a heavy hearted visit, not the enjoyable one I had hoped for.

As I left, a petite woman was coming out the front door of the Independent living facility at the same time as my sister and I. She was wearing her walking shoes and had 3 bags loaded with bread crumbs, and was headed to the pond to feed the birds. I offered to carry some of the bags for her and walked with her a few hundred feet toward the pond. She introduced herself as Marcella. She was so enjoyable to talk with and had such a pleasant attitude. She mentioned that she walked down there most days and loved to feed the birds. We discussed the weather being nice and how she got donations for the bread pretty often.

After dealing with the weight at what had just happened upstairs, it was a nice finish visiting with her to what was an otherwise gloomy visit.

I feel like God sometimes does that for me. He brings a little icing just when I need it. Does he do that for you? Maybe take a moment today and think about how?



About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

