//
you're reading...
Living true

Plans for a well-furnished life

“Mimi’s in charge and Poppy’s in charge”  Ella, my 3-year-old niece was being taken care of by her grandparents the other day, and she was just confirming by making this statement that she understood the pecking order. Even at that young age, she wants to be clear of who’s in charge. (If no one was, I’m sure she would happily do it) 🙂

I’d like to ask a question that I often need to answer myself. Who do you think is in charge in your life? Is it you? Someone else? Or have you surrendered your life to God?  

The following verse has gotten me thinking about this….

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.” Prov 16:9 NLT

If I may, I would like to use an example from work that I think will help illustrate how I see this verse better .

One of my jobs in the family furniture business is sales. This job often involves visiting with clients, and going to their place of business to assess their space. Then I will come back to the office for space planning with our software system. I draw the walls and doors and so on, and then after the room is sketched out, I place furniture in the space such as desks, chairs, tables and so on and build a quotation. It’s pretty fun actually and doesn’t feel like work at all… most of the time.

After the client has looked at my plans and suggestions, if they don’t like something or it doesn’t quite line up with their vision or needs, they will make changes and I make the necessary adjustments. On larger projects, this process can go back and forth several times until the client is satisfied and then (hopefully) they will place the order.

As I was meditating on this verse I referred to earlier in Proverbs the other day, I saw this example come to life in my mind.

“In his heart, a man plans his course…” In my furniture scenario, I’m the planner and I make my recommendations to the client and then see what they think.

“…but the Lord determines his steps.” Referring again to my work scenario, I think that the client is in charge, because they are the one who places the order. If they don’t order the furniture then all of my work in planning was in vain. And ultimately the client is the one who will use the furniture for their purpose, not me.  So, coming back to this verse, that answers the question then of who is really in charge. Like Ella, it’s important to know who that person is.

In a similar way, we can plan our life the best we know how. Sometimes we try to help God out with how we think things should go down. I know that I’m guilty of this. The problem with doing this is that our understanding is limited by our knowledge and experiences. The Lord knows what his divine plan is for our lives. And if we want what he wants (which should be his will) then we will not force our plans on him but rather truly trust that he knows best.

If you and I trust the one doing the ordering, then our plans will match up to his vision and purpose. Sometimes that requires a “revision” to our original plans. But in the end, God’s way is always better and is always with our best interest in mind.

What plans or areas of your life do you need to lay down and consecrate to him? Why not pick an area that needs surrender and make that decision today? Then you will truly make it a GOOD FRIDAY to remember.

Happy Easter to you!

About 1authenticlife

I am a traveler in life, loving to explore, observe and grow. I have a large, great family and live in the Mid west. My husband and I both co-own businesses... There is so much in life that fascinates me, most of all God and people. I have been to many countries and still have never tired of the adventure. My hope is to inspire others through the trials and triumphs of my life & practical truths found in the Bible, to be all they can be, and to live out their life authentically for Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

